Let it Shine

Remember when you were little, and you would spend hours imagining how your life would be once your “hidden natural talent” was found?  For me, I used to skate with a purpose on the ice rink thinking, “Maybe someone will see how amazing I am at skating and then ask to train me for the Olympics”  Or it was narrating imaginary cooking shows in the shower and thinking, “I can be like Rachel Ray!”

Then you grow up, no one has miraculously found you and your “hidden natural talent” and you end up hearing conversations that go on and on about people wishing they had a natural talent.  They wish that they could sing, be athletic, be smart, dress cute, play music, create gorgeous artwork, or one of the many other well-known and coveted talents.

It makes me sad that people don’t see their talents as those awesome “hidden talents” that every kid dreams about; that they don’t see themselves as good at anything, when it is a fact that everyone has a “hidden” talent if they just knew where to look.  I used to think this way too.  It has been a long road to reach a place where I can accept that my talent isn’t one that would rank in “The Top Ten Best Talents”  or even the top twenty.  My talent of listening and cheering people up with my smile, isn’t one that expecting parents would talk about saying, “I hope my kid smiles all the time, so he can cheer people up.”  I’m not artistic, gifted with hand eye coordination, or a musical genius, but I have seen the effects my smile has on people and have learned that it is my “hidden natural talent” and to use it as often as I can.

I wish people would see the talent they have and embrace it.  Remember the Sunday school song, “This Little Light of Mine”?  If not, maybe this will refresh your memory.

All around me I see people with great talents that they just need to let shine.  If your aren’t using and embracing the talents God gave you, then you are wasting them.  You have a talent for a reason, that reason being to let is shine.  I encourage you this week to FULLY EMBRACE YOUR TALENTS and LET THEM SHINE.  In fact, embrace other people’s talents while you are at it, too.  I’ll even wager a bet to say that if you do, your week will be way better than it would have been if you hadn’t embraced your talents.  So go out and start embracing talents.

Leave a Reply

